7 Books To Read If You Loved London in the Dark

7 books to read

If you loved reading London in the Dark, here are seven books that may or may not have inspired the book or was just downright enjoyable from the standpoint that it was so similar in it’s time period, characters, etc. Enjoy my highly recommended list!

~ Shadows over England series by Roseanna M. White ~

shadows-over-england-complete-set_orig

Spies, London on the brink of World War One, the same time period as London in the Dark. . . This series is an epic masterpiece from start to finish. Book one captured my heart with the story of Rosemary and Peter (who happens to be an author) and all of the awesomeness that is their story will have you laughing, quite possibly in tears (Who me? I didn’t cry.) and with all your heart strings tied up in the rest of the series.

 

~ Sherlock Holmes: The Sign of the Four ~

sherlock-holmes-the-sign-of-four-book-cover-1892-500x693

Obviously, I couldn’t write this post without a nod to the original master of mysteries. The success of Sir Arthur Conan Doyle’s masterpieces is unparalleled in literature. This one just happened to be my favorite so far. (I have yet to read them all)

 

~Murder on the Titanic by Jim Walker ~

41QPD17HKCL._SX310_BO1,204,203,200_

This book was phenomenal. All of the rich detail that was the titanic, the fashion, the social norms, the English accents. . . it’s all there in a splendid book that had me on my toes the entire time. It’s sequel is just as good too, so don’t miss out on Voices from The Titanic either. 😀

 

~ The Case of the Baker Street Irregular ~

51qupZuOkvL._SX326_BO1,204,203,200_

No one knows about this awesome book and it was one of the few stories that very directly inspired my mystery binge. This is the very first mystery that captured my heart and had me excited about the idea of writing one. It’s a mid-teen/YA fiction, so it’s definitely a bit on the younger side, but I LOVED IT! and still read it at least once a year.

 

~ Lady Jayne Disappears by Joanna D Polatino ~

51N1yPVkFyL._SX322_BO1,204,203,200_
You can check out my full review of this novel over on the Bookworm Banquet, but suffice it to say that it was phenomenal. The depth and richness of the characters left me breathless and the Victorian era has always been a favorite of mine as well.

 

~ Murder on the Orient Express ~

Murder on the Orient Express

Another classic, but I couldn’t not include it. The recent movie was also phenomenal, so be sure to check that out if you haven’t, but the story is one that is just great! The first time I experienced it was via audiobook read by Dan Stevens and it was amazing! I highly recommend that audio edition.

 

~ Rules of Murder by Julianna Deering ~

51qfvohN2tL

If you like things a bit more on the darker side you will enjoy this one. I loved a lot about it, from the time period and the relationships, to the fact that it had such a stand up main character. A slight forewarning, it is a bit more on the gristly side of things and as a result, I did not read the rest of the series, so this one is definitely not for children. But I had to share it because I enjoyed the writing style and the time period.

 

There you have it! Let me know if you’ve read any of these, or which ones pique your interest! I might need to reread a bunch of these. . . or all of them. 😀

By God’s Grace,

Victoria

 

P.S. This post contains affiliate links to amazon. When you purchase through these links it creates a few cents of income to me that helps support content for Ruffles and Grace.

3 thoughts on “7 Books To Read If You Loved London in the Dark

  1. Victoria, you should so check out Sherlock Holmes movies from the 40s! The are amazing and mix WWII with the plots! They are on YouTube. I’ve never read the books, but I have The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes waiting for me on Kindle;)

    Like

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s